1 Year

Today marks 1 year to the day since I gave up alcohol.  It’s a decision that has changed how I view myself and others.  How have things improved?  I have become better at dealing with stress and pain and no longer worry that the next big crisis will put me over the edge.  I am much more active and present. I’m moving much more and eating better, and as a result have shed a few pounds, which is great.  But most of all, I have started to get to know who I am and what I’m about.  A person who doesn’t have problems with alcohol is likely to not really understand that sentence.  You live inside your own head, how do you not know yourself?  It’s sounds strange, but I had been numbing my emotions for so long, I didn’t really know what was real and what wasn’t.  Now I know that when I feel something, it’s coming from me, not the liquid depressant I was pouring into myself.  I’m finally living my life instead of living for 5 o’clock.  I don’t ever want to go back there!  Sobriety is the greatest thing I could have ever done for myself, and I only regret not doing it sooner!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 1 Year

  1. Pamela says:

    Awesome! Understand what you are saying…am getting close to a year myself….

    Like

  2. noddysober says:

    Congratulations on 1 year!

    Like

  3. Liam says:

    I’m a bit late but congrats on your one year. We have roughly the same birthday so I was interested to read your thoughts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

