One Decision

I’m sitting here on this New Year’s day thinking about how one decision made on 9/7/2014 changed the trajectory of the rest of my life.  Where would I be right now if I had continued drinking?  I’d probably be at least a little hung over.   I would have consumed at least 300 bottles of wine last year, assuming of course that I consumed the same amount as the year before.  The fact is, I probably would have increased my consumption, since that’s been my pattern over the last several years.  I would be less healthy, less fit, and more addicted.

All it takes is today.  One decision to turn it all around.  I could have been still heading down the road to complete physical addiction.  That’s the ultimate and inevitable destination for those of us who abuse alcohol.  That elevator only goes down, as someone wise once said.  If you’re struggling today, decide once and for all to get off that elevator and don’t get back on.  It’s not too late, and it will never be any easier than it is today.  In fact, it only gets harder.

It’s not always easy.  Sometimes it sucks ass.  But it’s worth it.  You will never regret not drinking yesterday.

Here’s to a new day.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One Decision

  1. ainsobriety says:

    I agree. I have never woken up wishing I had had a drink the night before.

    Like

  2. kari says:

    Isn’t it one of the best feelings, to wake up and for a split second (or more) you are just immensely and overwhelmingly grateful? It’s one of the greatest rewards of giving up alcohol, I’ve found. All it takes is one moment of pure clarity to turn everything in a new direction. Congratulations on your decision, and thanks for sharing with us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

